Print current pagePrint this page

Young Scholars' Competition

Final Result

1st prize: Justin Moore: The continuum and aleph-2

2nd prize: Mark Van Atten: Gödel and German Idealism

3rd prize: Eli Ben-Sasson: Searching for a conditional answer to Gödel's question

The Kurt Gödel Centenary: Horizons of Truth organizers and sponsors have invited ten scholars to attend the conference, present their project proposals and compete for three top prizes:


1st prize: 20 000 EUR
2nd and 3rd prize: 5000 EUR each

The prize will facilitate the implementation of this particular project or other scientific work. Prizes will be awarded without conditions orconstraints.

Selected invitees

There have been 63 applications for the Young Scholar's Competition, from which the jury has chosen 10 applicants to be invited to the meeting and present their proposal. At the symposium, a fifteen minute time slot will be allocated to each presentation.

The talks by the applicants are open to everybody who would wish to attend.

Program and place of the competition

Thursday April 27th.
Kurt Gödel Research Center for Mathematical Logic
Währinger Straße 25
1090 Vienna

17:30 - 18:00 Coffee Break

18:00 Lorenzo Carlucci: phase-transition phenomenon for old and new independence results
18:15 Andrey Bovykin: Independence results in concrete mathematics

Proof Theory
18:30 Lutz Strassburger: The Identity of Proofs
18:45 Laurentiu Leustean: Proof mining in functional analysis, hyperbolic geometry, and group theory

19:00 Mark Van Atten: Gödel and German Idealism
19:15 Hannes Leitgeb: Formal and Informal Provability

19:30-20:00 Coffee Break

Set Theory
20:00 Itay Neeman: Inner models, determinacy, and L(R)
20:15 Justin Moore: The continuum and aleph-2

Other Topics
20:30 Eli Ben-Sasson: Searching for a conditional answer to Goedel's question

Other topics
20:45 Russell O'Connor: New Horizons of Proof: Software Verification of Goedel's Second Incompleteness Theorem

21:00 Discussion of the jury (behind closed doors).

Award ceremony

The winners will be anounced at the Gala dinner at the Belvedere Palace, on Friday evening.

The awards will be presented by Mr. Garry Kasparov, The Kasparov Foundation. The prize ceremony will be held at the Gala dinner in Belvedere Palace, on 28 April, Kurt Gödel's 100th birthday.


An interdisciplinary, international jury will consider all proposals, and choose the three winners. The jury consists of the following members.

  • Wolfgang Achtner, Justus Liebig Universitaet and Wolfgang Goethe Universität Frankfurt
  • Lev Beklemishev, Russian Academy of Sciences
  • Mirna Dzamonja, University of East Anglia
  • Solomon Feferman, Stanford University
  • Harvey Friedman, Ohio State University
  • Petr Hajek, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic
  • Michael Heller, Pontifical Academy of Theology
  • Juliette Kennedy, University of Helsinki
  • Daniele Mundici, University of Florence
  • Luke Ong, Oxford University Computing Laboratory
  • Michel Parigot, University Paris VII
  • Jeff Paris, University of Manchester
  • Gordon Plotkin, University of Edinburgh
  • Jouko Väänänen, University of Helsinki
  • Hugh Woodin, University of California, Berkeley
  • Jakob Yngvason, University of Vienna